2 Geothermal Theses Among Recipients of Geoscience BC Scholarship

On June 26, 2019, Geoscience BC selected ten post-graduate geoscience students to receive a prestigious scholarship award and Geothermal Canada would like to congratulate all of the recipients. We are also excited to see two projects related to geothermal- congratulations to Theron Finley of the University of Alberta and to Ashley Van Acken of the University of Victoria!


Geoscience BC 2019 Post-Graduate Applied Geoscience Scholarship Recipients:

Drew Branson, Queenā€™s University
Project: Geophysical prospecting for Antimony (and Chromite) in the southern Quesnel Terrane, British Columbia, Canada
Theron Finley, University of Alberta
Project: Stress and fault kinematics in southeastern BC; Implications for fault permeability and geothermal energy resources
Chantalle Gervan, Thompson Rivers University
Project: Invertebrate response to mine reclamation: The effects of reclamation age and soil amendment treatment on arthropod assemblages
Patricia Gonzalez Hernandez, University of Alberta
Project: Sedimentology, chemostratigraphy and stratigraphic architecture of the Lower Triassic Montney Formation in the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin, British Columbia
Pablo Lacerda Silva, University of British Columbia
Project: Petroleum system analysis of the Triassic Doig Formation, Western Canada Sedimentary
Rebecca Morris, University of Victoria
Project: Skarn mineralization along pluton-carbonate wallrock contacts in the Wrangellia Terrane, Vancouver Island (NTS 92L034, 92F083)
Cameron Peddle, University of Alberta
Project: Structural evolution of the Brucejack Intermediate-Sulphidation Epithermal Deposit, Stikine Terrane, Northwest British Columbia
Marco Roth, Ruhr University Bochum
Project: Velocity structure imaging and source parameter inversion based on seismological
observations near injection sites in northeast British Columbia, Canada
Ashley Van Acken, University of Victoria
Project: Evaluating the hydro-geothermal setting at Sloquet Thermal Springs, British Columbia
Paulina Wozniakowska, University of Calgary
Project: Tool for determination of factors controlling geological susceptibility to induced seismicity in the Montney Formation
Visit the Geoscience BC website to learn more about the 2019 Scholarship Award winners or click http://bit.ly/gbcScholar2019 to access the web page directly.